February 15, 2012

Beautiful Morocco

Morocco (Arabic: المغرب‎ al-Maghrib ; Berber: ⵍⵎⴰⵖⵔⵉⴱ Lmaɣrib), officially the Kingdom of Morocco (Arabic: المملكة المغربية‎ al-Mamlaka al-Maghribiyya), is a country located in North Africa. It has a population of more than 35 million and an area of 710,850 km², and also primarily administers the disputed region of the Western Sahara. It is part of the Maghreb region, in addition to Tunisia, Algeria, Mauritania, and Libya, with which it shares cultural, historical and linguistic ties. Morocco is a constitutional monarchy with an elected parliament. The King of Morocco holds vast executive powers, including the possibility of dissolving the parliament. Executive power is exercised by the government but more importantly by the king himself. Legislative power is vested in both the government and the two chambers of parliament, the Assembly of Representatives and the Assembly of Councillors. The king can also issue decrees called dahirs which have the force of law. Parliamentary elections were held in Morocco on 7 September 2007, and were considered by some neutral observers to be mostly free and fair; although voter turnout was estimated to be 37%, the lowest in decades. The political capital is Rabat, and the largest city is Casablanca; other large cities include Marrakesh, Tetouan, Tangier, Salé, Fes, Agadir, Meknes and Oujda. Most Moroccans natively speak either Moroccan Arabic or one of the Berber languages as a mother tongue. Both languages have regional dialects and accents. Hassaniya Arabic is also spoken natively in the southern parts of the country.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...